Author Topic: Replicar Cursor  (Read 17848 times)

Cessna

• Occasional
Replicar Cursor
« on: March 16, 2008, 05:04:35 PM »
Hi All
I am new to the micro car "scene", coming from a save the planet view point. I currently run a normal car for bad weather/winter and a BMW C1 for spring/summer/autumn, however the plan isn't working as well as invisaged. A combination of mechanical problems with the C1, weather and a stupid fall plus a minor but lenghty repair has meant the C1 has only run some 15% of its planned time.

A micro car seems a good option and whilst there are modern options the cost puts me off. I wondered if the Replicar Cursor could be re-engined to provide a top speed of 40-50mph, this would be needed as my drive to work is 30miles each way.

Any thoughts?

Regards
Cessna

PS
Hoping to meet up with Bob Curl to hear more about his beautiful Dolphin eco car

Dan Rodd

Re: Replicar Cursor
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2008, 05:15:54 PM »
you would have to find one first lol!

inacoma

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2008, 05:25:08 PM »
Hi

Don't know what to advise realy.

There are a few reasons why a Cursor may not be practical.

Don't come up for sale very often,
When they do they are normaly in poor condition.
If you upgrade the engine it will be a lot of work.
The rest of the car probably won't cope with the upgrade without other mods.
Only 1 seat in most cars so no passengers, and very little storage.
Very low driving position, so not the safest of microcars for regular long journeys.

Your budget will determine what is the best option for you to have as a regular usage microcar.

Fiat 126, cinquichento cheap and easy to maintain, will keep up with traffic
fiat 500, Goggomobil or Heinkel bit more money, good parts back up and can be practical to use.

Hope this helps.

have a look at the items in the found for sale section and it will give you an idea of prices and what comes up for sale.