Author Topic: Alaska Sweet Find - 1958 Goggomobil TS400 Coupe manual floor shift  (Read 12253 times)

barbiealaska

• Just Starting
Hello everyone from alaska !!

I picked up a sweet find the other day up here in alaska, I think its a 1958 Goggomobil TS400 Coupe with maybe rare ? manual floor shifter. Once i got it home i did a little research and thought maybe this cute little car needs to go to someone that restores and preserves these little treasures. Not much up here in alaska for microcars and I am just a nurse. Can you experts give me some scoop and info on this jewel. It needs restoring but it is in pretty good shape.

Price/Value ? Ebay it ? I read on couple sites the manual shifter on floor was rare and maybe only 4 known ? I have lots of pic if needed (and a little box of knobs, loose parts, etc parts in a box i took out of car that not in pics) . thanks in advance

barbie :)

Big Al

• Prolific Poster
  • Ranttweiler, biting the breeze block of banter
Re: Alaska Sweet Find - 1958 Goggomobil TS400 Coupe manual floor shift
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2012, 07:56:53 AM »
Looks a full American specification car. That limits its market a bit but there might be collectors who would buy internationally. It would seem natural to sell it within America and Canada. There used to be a Goggo owner in Anchorage, cannot recall the name now.

As to manual gears, this is not rare worldwide. It might be for American cars as the coupe was often exported as top of the range with pre selector. Personally I prefer the manual but there is a split on this and I am not sure it will add anything to the value nor will it put folk off I suspect. The 400 is a mixed blessing as it is more powerful than a 300 but more expensive to restore and not as smooth nor as long lived as the smaller engine, Then most folks do not do a high mileage these days despite the fact a Goggo is more than capable of kicking above its weight.