Author Topic: Banned from the Roads? and other questions  (Read 6011 times)

Vintage Mark

• Just Starting
Banned from the Roads? and other questions
« on: June 18, 2015, 11:10:42 AM »
Good Morning everyone,

By way of introduction my name is Mark, I live in Derby and these days I'm known as Vintage Mark because of the old music I play in pubs etc. on my "All Electric Travelling Pub Piano"  (link: www.info-today.co.uk  ).      I'm now in my sixties and I've always been interested in microcars (owned a Coronet and a Bond Mk C in the 1960s) and also vintage cars and aircraft.  Until recently I flew vintage aircraft for a living (my third career) even though I am a full-time wheelchair user (link: www.markspeaking.com).

Now, with no vintage vehicles other than the Sinclair C5 I've had for 30 years, I am seriously considering an Invalid Carriage especially if I can eventually find something like an electric Tippen.      Hence my following questions to this forum's members who obviously know a lot more about Invalid Carriages than I do.

My first question is about how to use an invalid carriage legally on the road.    Were they really banned as a road vehicle?    As I understand it, that would require the Secretary of State of the day to produce a Statutory Instrument (S.I.) to enact that.   If there is such a S.I. can anyone refer me to it?

However, "Invalid Carriage" doesn't seem to be one of the vehicle groups available on driving licences now as far as I can see from the DVLA website.    That suggests (to me) that any invalid carriage would now be licenced as an ordinary vehicle with the appropriate tax class of Private, Electric, or Disabled.    The "Disabled" tax class is only available to people who qualify for the higher rate mobility component and is not determined by the vehicle type.