Author Topic: Scootacar Mk1 clutch adjustment - 9E engine  (Read 2622 times)

skootaloon

• Occasional
Scootacar Mk1 clutch adjustment - 9E engine
« on: November 24, 2013, 08:33:52 PM »
Hi,
I am new to RUMcars and also new to Scootacars having just bought one in the last couple of weeks. I need a bit of help. The gears make a bit of a "crunch" sound when putting into 1st gear. Is this normal and to be expected? If not then I think the clutch needs adjusting. Stephen Boyd has kindly sent some information on clutch adjustment but i am struggling to see what needs to be done. I have had a look at my set-up on the engine and there is a cable adjuster on the top of the engine and there is a screw adjustment accessed through the fan cover (difficult to get at, cannot be seen). On page 42 of the attached it gives an explanation of adjustment for 3 wheelers and refers to fig 30 on the same page. I am not sure where the measurement of 3/32" is taken from as the fan housing is in the way. Not sure how I can reach both dimensions in the same adjustment ie 3/32" and 2 1/8". The car seems to drive ok and the gears select fine but the "crunching" into 1st is a bit of concern.
Any help will be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Simon

richard

• Rich
  • Prolific Poster
  • Bond ,Gordon,Bruetsch
Re: Scootacar Mk1 clutch adjustment - 9E engine
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2013, 08:53:46 PM »
absolutely no help to you but very nice to see you on the forum Simon - sure you will find help  ;) to give you some " pedigree " you do have experience with Heinkels don't you - we do get some odd scooter types popping in  ;)
« Last Edit: November 24, 2013, 09:02:50 PM by richard »
outside of a dog a book is mans best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read .Groucho Marx 1895-1977

NickPoll

• Quite Chatty
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2013, 10:24:37 PM »
Hello Simon,