Author Topic: stainless screws  (Read 2514 times)

richard

• Rich
  • Prolific Poster
  • Bond ,Gordon,Bruetsch
stainless screws
« on: July 31, 2014, 12:53:34 PM »
Surely all of you have used stainless stuff a lot . just had a small parcel of , in my case , decorative screws . They came with the reminder " NOTE :- Stainless steel bolts should not be used in strength critical allocations (steering,brakes,suspension etc)" also the reminder that " it is good engineering practice to put a lubricant on stainless steel threads when fitting " - why is this and do we all do these things ?
« Last Edit: July 31, 2014, 01:56:47 PM by richard »
outside of a dog a book is mans best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read .Groucho Marx 1895-1977

marcus

• Prolific Poster
    • http://marcusdemowbray.wordpress.com/
Re: stainless screws
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2014, 12:59:02 PM »
I am no expert on stainless steel, but from what I know there are different grades of stainless steel, and many of them work harden, due to heat and/or "work". It could be that as some types harden they might also become brittle and fracture, whereas high tensile bolts tend to remain more stable re hardness and mechanical properties.

That said, I always thought that stainless steel were good for such use as mentioned, unless authenticity was required!
Just remember: as one door closes behind you, another slams in your face

Rusty Chrome (Malcolm Parker)

• Global Moderator
  • Prolific Poster
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2014, 01:50:21 PM »